The ISS-ABOVE – your personal control centre for the ISS!

Experience the amazing view of the astronauts on your own screen

In April 2014, an experiment with four outside cameras was installed on the ISS (High-Definition Earth Viewing, HDEV) and the live video feed became publicly available world-wide. The ISS-Above is a stand-alone device allowing to display this live feed on your screen alongside with further information and orbital data based on the screens in the ISS mission control centre.

The four cameras on board the ISS allow an impressive view on Earth that otherwise only the astronauts and cosmonauts experience during their flight. The Earth is only visible in the live feed when it is in sunlight. This is the case for about half of the 92-minutes Orbit around Earth, i.e. about 46 minutes at a time. During that time, HDEV is switching through the four different cameras that provide different viewing angles in flight direction (1 camera), downwards (1 camera) and backwards (2 cameras).

Partially, ISS components and spacecraft are visible in the camera views, like the docked Soyuz and Progress vehicles. Sometimes, it is even possible to observe the rendezvous and (un-)docking of spacecraft like the Dragon capsule (SpaceX) or the Cygnus spacecraft (Orbital ATK) on the live feed.

ISS-ABOVE brings this feed to your screen, at home, at work, in your Lobby/waiting area or at your children’s school. There is no better way to share the fascination of spaceflight.

 

Follow the ISS and when you can see it in your sky

The ISS-ABOVE connects the HDEV camera live feed with informative Screens about the ISS and indicating when you can observe it above your head. Next to the internet connection, the ISS-ABOVE only requires your location. At the initial start-up you can set your location and, if required, you can always change it later if you carry your ISS-ABOVE with you. It is also possible to change many other settings like the display duration of the different screens and the live stream, the language and your own tweets when the ISS passes overhead.

The ISS-ABOVE shows the position of the ISS above the Earth together with information on the altitude and orbital velocity. Furthermore, the ISS-ABOVE displays the current crew, with the crew members’ names, their role (commander/flight engineer) and the crew picture. Based on your location and the orbit of the ISS, the ISS-ABOVE provides information on the next passes of the ISS above your head. It tells you exactly when you will be able to directly observe the ISS with the naked eye! This is usually the case in the evenings and in the morning when the ISS reflects the sunlight. In the middle of the night and during the day the illumination angles are not ideal or the Sun is too bright. The individual screens of the ISS-ABOVE will be further explained below.

Additionally, the PiGlow module of the ISS-ABOVE displays the next pass independently from a screen. The LEDs provide information by:

  • RED FLASHING: the number of hours till the next pass
  • GREEN FLASHING: the number of 10-minute intervals till the next pass
  • BLUE FLASHING: the number of minutes until the next pass
  • FLASHING IN ALL COLOURS: the ISS is above you right now!

 

The individual screens of the ISS-ABOVE

ISS Orbit (world map)
Expedition Crew
Next Pass
Next Pass Skymap
Next Visible Pass

 

More about the ISS-ABOVE

The ISS-ABOVE is a standalone unit based on a Raspberry Pi. It was developed by Liam Kennedy in the USA, we are the official reseller of the ISS-ABOVE in Europe, providing units assembled in and distributed directly from Europe.

If you are in North America (USA, Canada, Mexico) and interested in purchasing an ISS-ABOVE, please visit the US site at www.issabove.com.

Die ISS-ABOVE – dein Kontrollzentrum für die ISS!

 

Erlebe die Aussicht der Astronauten auf deinem eigenen Bildschirm

Im April 2014 wurde ein Experiment mit vier Außenkameras an der Internationalen Raumstation ISS angebracht („High-Definition Earth Viewing“, HDEV) und der Live-Videostream wurde weltweit verfügbar. Die ISS-ABOVE erlaubt die einfache Wiedergabe dieses Videostreams auf einem Fernsehbildschirm, gemeinsam mit informativen Anzeigen basierend auf den Bildschirmen im ISS-Missionskontrollzentrum.

Die vier Kameras an Bord der ISS erlauben den einmaligen Ausblick auf die Erde, den sonst nur die Astronauten erleben. Die Erde ist im Videostream nur dann sichtbar, wenn die ISS auf ihrer 92-minütigen Umlaufbahn um die Erde über der sonnenbeschienen Seite ist. Das entspricht ungefähr der Hälfte des Orbits, also etwa.46 Minuten. In dieser Zeit schaltet HDEV im Wechsel durch alle vier Kameras, die unterschiedliche Ansichten in Flugrichtung (1 Kamera), gerade nach unten (1 Kamera) und schräg nach hinten (2 Kameras) zeigen.

Teilweise sind auf den Kameraansichten auch Teile der ISS zu sehen, wie z.B. die angedockten russischen Sojus- und Progress-Fahrzeuge. Manchmal kann man auch die Annäherung und das An-/Abdocken von Raumfahrzeugen wie der Dragon-Kapsel von SpaceX oder des Cygnus-Raumschiffs von Orbital ATK live beobachten.

ISS-ABOVE bringt diese Ansichten auf deinen Bildschirm, ob Zuhause, auf der Arbeit, im Empfangs- oder Wartebereich der Firma, oder in der Schule deiner Kinder. Die Faszination der Raumfahrt kann so eindrücklich vermittelt werden.

 

Verfolge wo die ISS ist und wann Du sie sehen kannst

Die ISS-ABOVE verbindet die Live-Ansichten der HDEV-Kameras mit informativen Anzeigen zur Raumstation und wie du sie beobachten kannst. Dazu braucht die ISS-ABOVE lediglich die Info zu deiner eigenen Position auf der Erde und eine Internetverbindung. Deine eigene Position gibst du beim ersten Start der ISS-ABOVE selbst ein, und kannst diese selbstverständlich jederzeit verändern. Auch viele andere Einstellungen sind als Administrator einer ISS-Above konfigurierbar, so z.B. die Anzeigedauer der verschiedenen Infobilder und des Livestreams, die Anzeigesprache und eigene Tweets, wenn die ISS über den Himmel zieht.

Die ISS-ABOVE zeigt die aktuelle Position der ISS über der Erde, zusammen mit nützlichen Informationen zur Höhe und Geschwindigkeit der Raumstation. Außerdem zeigt die ISS-ABOVE auch die aktuelle Besatzung der ISS mit Namen, Funktion und Bild an. Basierend auf dem eigenen Standort und der Bahn der ISS kann die ISS-ABOVE dir dann auch angeben, wann die ISS das nächste Mal über deinen Kopf hinweg zieht und wann du sie dabei aufgrund der reflektierten Sonneneinstrahlung beobachten kannst. Dies ist in der Regel am Abend oder am frühen Morgen der Fall, da tagsüber die Sonne zu hell ist und in der tiefen Nacht oft die Beleuchtungswinkel nicht passen. Die einzelnen Ansichten der ISS-ABOVE werden im Folgenden noch ausführlicher erklärt.

Zusätzlich zeigt das blinkende PiGlow-Modul der ISS-ABOVE dir auch ohne Bildschirm den nächsten Überflug der Raumstation an. Die LEDs zeigen dir durch:

  • ROTES BLINKEN die Anzahl der Stunden bis zum nächsten Überflug,
  • GRÜNES BLINKEN die Anzahl von 10-Min.-Intervallen bis zum nächsten Überflug,
  • BLAUES BLINKEN die Anzahl der Minuten bis zum nächsten Überflug,
  • BLINKEN IN ALLEN FARBEN, dass die ISS gerade über dich hinweg zieht.

 

Die einzelnen Anzeigen der ISS-ABOVE

ISS-Orbit (Weltkarte)
Expedition Crew
Nächster Überflug
Nächster Überflug (Himmelskarte)
Sichtbarer Überflug

 

Mehr über die ISS-ABOVE

Die ISS-ABOVE ist eine eigenständige Einheit auf Basis eines Raspberry Pi-Minicomputers. Der Raspberry Pi wird noch durch ein PiGlow-Leuchtmodul ergänzt, um den Überflug der ISS auch ohne Bildschirm zu signalisieren. Die ISS-Above wurde von Liam Kennedy in den USA entwickelt, wir vertreiben als offzieller Reseller die ISS-ABOVE jetzt auch in Europa.

Interessierte Käufer in Nordamerika (USA, Kanada, Mexiko) nutzen bitte direkt die offizielle US-Seite unter www.issabove.com.